Cassette obstruction...help anyone

This group is for Summa Printers & Plotters. Questions and issues, advice on all things Summa.
Becky Hopper

Cassette obstruction...help anyone

Post by Becky Hopper » Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:02 pm

I have had my DC4sx for several months now. I am very new at the digital print as I have only cut vinyl for years. From the start, I have had hang-ups, some my lack of knowledge and some maybe not. I have learned about my printer and have worked through some of them with the help of some very patient and very helpful summa tech support guys.
The one problem I still have and cannot resolve is a message that I get in the process of a print. The message reads...store obstruction pull cassette manually to the back of the machine. I open the back of the machine, pull the cassette from the head, back into its location, but it cancels out the job and its wasted. I have run a store locator, cleaned all I can clean, and lastly ran a firmware update that tech support walked me through. He said if that didn't fix the problem, then I would need to order a part for some sensor. I told him I have had this problem and have called about this same message several times.
On Thursday, I printed several prints,,,no problem. Then the dreaded message appeared again. I just stopped and left for the weekend holiday.
This has become a very frustrating obstacle to resolve.
ANY HELP GREATLY APPRECIATED.
Don't get me wrong. I love SUMMA. I have had a D60 for years. Love my machines. Just need them to produce for me.

zlmark

Re: Cassette obstruction...help anyone

Post by zlmark » Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:55 am

I think I would check back on some previous posts and see what what
said. I'm thinking you might have a bad switch in the cassette area.

Mark

TogaTony

Post by TogaTony » Mon Dec 28, 2009 11:54 am

HOPEFULLY, THIS IS AN EASY FIX:
Problem is probably with cassette and carriage rollers.

1. REMOVE cassette
2. Reach in and CLEAN the white (TOP) carriage rollers.